In Appreciation Of A Wonderful 2014

It’s been a year since I launched the ebook version of The Lady of the Turquoise Pendant in January. I was very excited when the first European reader purchased my book.

The Lady of the Turquoise Pendant

The Lady of the Turquoise Pendant, by Lilibeth André

In June I returned from vacation when I learned the book won the Best Young Adult Educational Book Award presented by the International Latino Book Awards in Las Vegas.

The Guiton St. Artists Spring Open Studio was a fun success with my fellow neighbors Bruce Williamson and Caroline Ratliff opening the door to their studio as well. My exhibition was curated by artists Darra Keeton and we called it FACES:Houston Community. It gave me the opportunity to share my art and visit with old and new friends.

I was invited to participate in the Frida Kahlo Exhibition at ChimMaya Gallery in Los Angeles this summer. I was thrilled to reach out to California with my paintings.

Original art by Alpine High School students

Original art by Alpine High School students

This fall I visited with 800 grade school students in Alvin, Texas. We talked about what it is like to be an artists and I demonstrated how I work. I was excited to see that over half of the students considered themselves artists. I also had the opportunity to work with 100 high school students through the Arts In Education Program in Alpine, Texas.

Your invitation to the Open Studio & Art Sale

Your invitation to the Open Studio & Art Sale

The Fall Open Studio was a good way to close the year with new works at the studio. I once again teamed up with my neighbors Bruce Williamson and Caroline Ratliff to open our doors and share new artworks.

The fall in West Texas was fun and exciting. I was honored to be selected to lead a chalk art project for ArtWalk 2014. The painting was at Brown Dog Gardens and I worked with team of talented local artists to produce a sample of ephemeral art.

I am very thankful to Kiowa Gallery for representing my artwork in Alpine!

The Songs Of My Grandfather, Edited by Lilibeth Andre

The Songs Of My Grandfather, Edited by Lilibeth Andre

To close the year I completed my new book, The Songs Of My Grandfather. A tribute to my grandfather, the book gives me a sense of completion and pride to share his songs as poems in this book that compiles his lyrics in Spanish with English translations. I look forward to the official launch of the book next year.

This year would not have come together without the help, appreciation, support, encouragement, camaraderie and love of all of you. I thank you for your inspiration, your motivation, and appreciation for the work that I do to express my creativity. Thank you for letting me share my language of the world, as I see it, inside and out.

I am glad you visited my blog. I look forward to exciting opportunities to share more in 2015.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,195 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.