Artwork Spanning 8 Years

Talento Bilingue de Houston hosts “Fechas Patrias: A Celebration of Mexican Independence“, an exhibition of my artwork that includes 25 paintings and 8 illustrations. These pieces cover an 8-year span of artistic development. From the piece “El Chal”, completed in 2006, to the three Frida portraits completed in 2013, these works present a visual testimony of artistic evolution.

Invitation: September 13, 2013

Invitation: September 13, 2013

In the mid 2000’s, I was moved to create scenes from my cultural roots. I began exploring representational Mexican themes. The collection of paintings in this exhibition provides a visual narrative of how ongoing artistic challenges moved me through a path of personal development at the easel.

In 2006, while still President of the Colored Pencil Society of America-Houston, I created “El Chal”. From a composition in colored pencil created from a photo reference, I created a narrative image of two vendors engrossed in gossip during market day. Building up layer after layer to reach the desired color saturation on thirsty paper, patience was the key.

Then in 2007 came the pieces representing scenes from Cuernavaca, romanticized with bright colors and my memories. Walks on the plaza, brilliant balloons, and the faux horse represent the childhood I experienced.

2008 was a year where I explored new dimensions with larger canvases, leading to works like “Artesanas”, “La Costura”, and “Pintando Artesanias”, as well as smaller works like “iyollotzin motlapana”, which represented the invented iconic surrealism of my goddess with the broken heart, and the piece “Vino de Morelos-Tierra y Libertad”, a self-portrait marking more than artistic independence.

2009 began three continuous years of portrait training with Houston artist William Kalwick, Jr. This training provided me with greater mastery of the medium and enhanced technical training as reflected in the expressive features of “Disculpe Ud. Mi General”, the drummers in “Tres Tambores”, and the dreamy look in “El Mandil”. Further advancement capturing emotive strength is reflected in “Pequeña Oaxaqueña” and “Niña de Trenza”.

In 2011, I began to prepare my manuscript for publication. I decided that the Young Adult novel “The Lady of the Turquoise Pendant” would include illustrations. This decision started the development of a collection of eight oil paintings of the principal characters to illustrate the book published in 2012. These portraits like Popoca,Topiltzin”, andCentehua took my written word coupled with research and creativity to bring these characters to the canvas.

At the close of 2012, with the first copies of my book in hand and a first trip to Europe “finally” under my belt, a new facet was introduced, the application of palette knife expression. This new technique has helped me achieve the long desired texture to further my already colorful and emotive work. I believe this technique enhances the balance between the representational and impressionist style of these new pieces combining the current and new techniques that I bring to the canvas and resulting in higher brilliance.

Lilibeth Andre, La Coleta, oil, 16x12

Lilibeth Andre, La Coleta, oil, 16×12

This new effort is present in “Esperando el Nixtamal”, the first figure piece created with this new technique; the “Yellow Frida”, the first portrait; and consecutive pieces such as “Frida Teal”, “Princess Frida”, “Dos Oaxaqueñas”, and the tender piece that reflects the inner force and peace characteristic of my images, “La Coleta”.

The evolution of each phase emphasizes the skill level and mastery of new artistic achievement giving my work a compounding effect over each prior triumph. The bar is raised to the next level of personal development in my artistic career. Then, I organically search for the next discovery.

Opening Reception: September 13, 2013, 6 to 9 pm

The exhibition runs from September 9 to November 3, 2013. A closing reception will take place on October 18.

Talento Bilingue de Houston is located at:

333. S. Jensen Dr.
Houston, Texas 77003

(713) 222-1213

To see other samples of my work visit my website.

 

1 Comment

  1. […] “Fiestas Patrias” Exhibition commemorating Mexican Independence and Hispanic Heritage Month, with the works by […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • September 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,186 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.