Painting Generations Now

Raven

Lilibeth André, "Raven", oil

I’ve painted and sketched three generations now and it was all through my Thursday night group.

I stopped by to sketch with the group this week. Some years back, I had the opportunity to paint Raven. Raven is Danny’s grand daughter. Danny is one of our group members. He was the group coordinator for several years and always had a model for the group. Somehow he always managed to bring someone in and we were very appreciative to have a live model. Danny had some health problems and passed the baton to another of our members but the group continues and he is well enough to come back and paint with us.

Danny

Lilibeth André, "Danny", oil

This evening, the model was Raven’s dad. Not being sure if I’d be able to return to paint with the group the following week and preferring to work from life, I chose to sketch instead. The other members of the group have the opportunity to work on the portrait during the week and work off a photo they take during the session. Later I found out that this was the last night with this model so sketching was a good choice.

Raven’s painting was done about four years ago, maybe a little more. Danny’s portrait I painted two years ago. I enjoyed the loose and easy strokes that came together to produce “Danny”.

Danny Jr

Lilibeth André, Danny Jr., conté

I found an open spot and I sat down to sketch Danny Jr. I only had a short while and got a little caught up with my friends while we painted. We chatted during the break and I admired their work. So “Danny Jr.” came together as a quick sketch focusing on the likeness and capturing the light and shadow on the subject.

And yes, David presented me with the portrait he painted of me (see last week’s posting). The painting, like all artwork, looks so much better in real life. All were in agreement that David did an excellent job with the colors and I told him he did a great job with the likeness.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,186 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.