Artist As Model

First let me say this, as an artist, I know what I like to see. As a model, I’ve had my training. As a creative director, I know my stuff. So when my artist friends like a pose, I comply. I think it is a standard thing most of us artists do. We’re always looking for a subject.

LA Sekula

Lilibeth Andre, by Gaye Sekula

On a trip to San Antonio a few years back I met a lovely artist. We were both showing our artwork at the Riverwalk and she was snapping photos away. She was kind enough to take some pictures of me. She said she was going to paint me. A few months later, she sent me a photo of the finished work. I was impressed.

We’ve stayed in touch ever since that trip. I keep up with her painting and she keeps up with mine. Gaye Sakula is a fantastic impressionist artist and a terrific long-distance friend. She is generous with her art-shop tips and always has encouraging words. I think you’ll like her work.

Recently, I received a “threatening” email from my old portrait studio group leader. He said that if I didn’t come back soon I would never get the portrait he had painted of me. An image was attached. A teaser if I ever saw one. I thought he did a great job! I better get back to the group, pronto!

LA Pierce

Lilibeth Andre, by David Pierce

David Pierce is a really nice friend. I’ve known him for years. Even before I “knew” him, we painted in adjoining rooms at the Houston Civic Arts Association, so for several years, we were painting away for hours and admiring each other’s work. One day they got me to pose and I finally joined the portrait group, and the rest is history.

David is another generous soul. He is charming and gives encouragement and many other things freely. He is also a gentleman with a sense of humor.  He is a fine artist as well. He painted this portrait from a photo he took earlier in the year when we were sketching together.

It is always a pleasure to pose for my friends. Their work certainly makes it worth it, don’t you agree?

2 Comments

  1. Yup, I agree. 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,186 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.