New Additions to Mexico Series

Pequeña Oaxaqueña

Lilibeth André, Pequeña Oaxaqueña, oil, 16x12.

Here are my two most recent additions to the Mexico series. Both are oil paintings on a 16×12 canvas board. I enjoyed painting them and look forward to hearing from you  about them.

The first I had featured previously as a work in progress. I find it exciting to see it finished with it’s dappled light and shadows. I like the weight of the woven huipil, and the movement of her skirt as she walks with a happy bounce.

Niña de Trenza

Lilibeth André, Niña de Trenza, oil, 16x12.

The second piece “painted itself”. I just followed with the brush in my hand. I was watching her walk with her mother on the plaza. I asked if I could take a picture. Her mother agreed and I snapped as the young girl walked distractedly looking away to reveal a beautiful profile. I slightly modified the composition and am very happy with the result. I called her a girl with a braid.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,195 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.