November Calendar

With November comes the 2009 Via Colori event for this year on the 21st and 22nd. I hope the weather is dry and mild. Painting on the street is a very physical activity. It is fun to work among over 120 other artists who are painting a space of street of their own. This year I’ll be painting another 6 x 6 foot square with a classical piece I hope you recognize.

The Beginning

Lilibeth André prepares the figure for color at Via Colori 2008.

In this picture I am beginning to block in my image. In the square behind me you can see the grid they used to transfer their sketch. My chalk lines weren’t working well for me because I was doing all the prep myself and you actually need two people to hold and drop the lines so I free-handed a lot of the outline.

Some squares are painted by groups or pairs of artists and teachers and their students. Some artists even have helpers. Two of my friends said they’d come and help. Either way, I am training to get in shape for this grueling project. I prefer to get the painting done on Saturday so you’ll see me very focused on my work that day. On Sunday I just do final touch ups to freshen the color as we cover the work with plastic on Saturday night. It’s a great festival with music, food and many square feet of temporary art that gets hosed down at the end of the day on Sunday.

Via Colori is in downtown Houston, at Bagby and Allen Parkway, all day Saturday and Sunday.

Come to visit: Via Colori

See some of my past artwork for Via Colori 2007 and 2008.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Lilibeth André

  • Receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,186 other followers

  • The Top Five

  • Copyright Notice

    © Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this text, images or content without express and written permission Lilibeth André is strictly prohibited. For permission to license, exhibit or purchase any of the artwork, email info@lilibethandre.com. Links to this site may be made with full and clear accreditation to Lilibeth André and Art by Lilibeth André.